Shop for Houston Texans gear at

Blown Call on DeAndre Hopkins Costs Texans a TD in Loss to Raiders

DeAndre Hopkins

A blown call on a sideline catch by Pro Bowl wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins cost the Texans a potential touchdown during the first quarter of a 27-20 loss Monday night to the Oakland Raiders, Aaron Wilson of the Houston Chronicle reports.

Hopkins tight-roped the sideline, but television replays clearly showed he didn’t step out of bounds as he kept running unencumbered toward the end zone at Estadio Azteca. However, officials blew the play dead and ruled Hopkins out at the Raiders’ 36-yard line after a 24-yard gain.

Texans coach Bill O’Brien attempted to challenge the play, but it’s not reviewable under NFL instant-replay rules. O’Brien threw the red-challenge flag, but wasn’t penalized a timeout even though NFL rules state that teams should lose a timeout if they attempt to challenge a non-reviewable call.

“Let’s go back to the first quarter,” O’Brien said following the defeat. “Was Hopkins out of bounds on that play? No.”

Enjoyed this post?
Subscribe to Texans Gab via RSS Feed or E-mail and receive daily news updates from us!

Submit to Digg  Stumble This Story  Share on Twitter  Post on Facebook  Post on MySpace  Add to  Bark It Up  Submit to Reddit  Fave on Technorati

Leave a Reply